SSO Fellows

September 17, 2016, 8:00 pm

Blue Mountains Theatre

Diversions with the SSO Fellows Roger Benedict conductor


MOZART Quintet in E flat for piano and winds, K452


MOZART String Quartet in B flat, K458 (The Hunt)

IBERT Divertissement

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 50 minutes (incl. 20-minute interval)

A chamber concert of contrasts and intrigue featuring the talented Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows.


Mozart was the master of the Divertimento – or diversion -but it’s not a divertimento by Mozart we hear in this program, rather one by Ibert, an admirer of Mozart’s. His Divertissement, written as incidental music for a farce called The Straw Hat, is wickedly funny entertainment.


Mozart is celebrated in this concert with two of his great chamber works, The Hunt quartet (nicknamed because of its depiction of hunting horns in the first movement) and Quintet for piano and winds. Framed by Mozart is Takemitsu’s Rain Coming for chamber orchestra, an ethereal soundscape of shifting colours.


Each year, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellowship program brings together some of the most talented young instrumentalists from throughout Australia for an intensive period of mentoring, workshops and performances. Under the guidance of SSO Principal Viola and Fellowship Artistic Director Roger Benedict, the Fellows are immersed in the world of the SSO. The Fellowship has doubled in size over the past two years and in 2016 we welcome 16 Fellows on strings, winds, brass and percussion.